Dugg: The only real social networks are personal ones | Doc Searls

Doc Searls writes:

"(…) The best collections of [social networks] for me aren’t on facebook or LinkedIn. They’re in my IM buddy list and my email address book. (…)"

My comment:

Couldn’t agree more on Facebook and LinkedIn being walled gardens.

However, it keeps amazing me how the transformative power of mobility just doesn’t seem to sink in on the other side of the Atlantic, even among the brightest scholars of the computer networking age.

Doc, I don’t want to sound funny or anything, but the best collections of my social networks are found in the contacts application of my mobile phone.

For a good introduction of where mobility may take us fairly soon, I suggest Stephen Johnston‘s excellent essay in two on Nokia’s innovation story: part I and part II.

read more | digg story

Leave a Reply

