About me: version 0.9

It's been close to 3.5 years since I posted my previous "About me", version 0.5. Time for a few adjustments – and as this is so damn hard to do, it will be work in progress. 🙂

The conversations I wish to engage in (online and in public) are perhaps best expressed by way of the contents of my blog, for example in the category cloud on the right-hand column, or through the RSS feed.

What I do is probably best expressed through my company, Cluetail Ltd.

Here you can see where I am and how you can reach me.

Below I've listed some elements of who I am and what I value:

  • I am a man, a boy, a husband, a lover, a friend, a father, a son, a
    brother, a son-in-law, a brother-in-law, a cousin, a nephew, an uncle,
    a neighbor, a colleague, an acquaintance.
  • I am an entrepreneur, a participatory media strategist, a blogger, a seasoned journalist, and an aspiring coach. Cluetail Ltd., (introduction, blog category), my company, is the vehicle through which I actualize my professional identity. See my LinkedIn profile for more on my professional background.
  • To name a few other properties: I am also white, Dutch, a victim of a Roman-Catholic upbringing, a small-town
    child, a foreigner in my current country of residence, 41
    years of age, a gamma type student, an MBTI (Wikipedia)
    type INTJ or INTP (undecided), part of a transnational creative class,
    a music lover, a humanist, a proponent of progressive taxation and the
    Nordic welfare model, and I believe that we need state institutions to
    promote tolerance, non-discrimination, solidarity and equal
    opportunities for all disregarding race, nationality, gender, sexual
    orientation, age, or functional ability.
  • I haven't worked out how to tolerate the intolerant.
  • I value happiness, health, love, respect, humanism, democracy,
    equality, solidarity, intellectual freedom, honesty, selflessness,
    socially and environmentally responsible behavior, good food, music,
    literature, design, and a fierce but fair debate.
  • I am interested in the art of happiness, because ultimately this is
    what makes life worth living. Happiness is a function of many things,
    including most of the other items in this shortlist.
  • Nurturing a healthy mind in a healthy body is essential to the
    pursuit of happiness. Good health contributes strongly to quality of
    life.
  • Some material security is a prerequisite for happiness as well. Only
    after establishing the means to support oneself and one's loved ones,
    when things like medical care, housing and education are well in place rather than a daily struggle, can one focus on added value, such as
    cultural and political engagement, creativity and innovation.
  • Physical environment, location, mobility, location-independence,
    tele-connectedness. These all belong together. For example, I greatly
    value living in the healthy and beautiful Finnish countryside while
    being connected to a global community, both socially and
    professionally, through broadband Internet access and wireless
    communications. I am concerned about environmental issues.
  • Life-long learning. The world is changing at a staggering speed.
    I've always been news-driven, curious, hungry for knowledge, a trend
    watcher, analyst, innovator, eager to understand how the world turns.
    This is not just about nurturing one's value on the job market. Learning
    and understanding represents a broader human need. The prospect of "not
    getting it", of becoming alienated and detached from modern life, is
    just too frightening.
  • Philosophy, wisdom and intellectual exchange are also important if one yearns to stay engaged.
  • As are social, cultural and political participation and discourse.
  • Last but not least: purpose and meaning. My wife has coined a
    phrase for it, which I'd like to borrow:
"What's the world, and why are
we in it?"

Not sure if one can ever find the answer during this life on earth. My best thesis so far is that the pursuit of happiness is what makes life most worth living.
Additionally, there is meaning in voting with your feet, your money and
your mouth, by offering moral support to people and organizations that
share humanistic values, people and organizations who sincerely attempt to make
a positive difference.

