How do I get the Nokia Ovi Suite to sync my N97? (Help!)

I've been at it for a couple of hours now, and I'm about to give up.

I installed the Nokia Ovi Suite from the DVD that came with the Nokia N97, onto my PC running Windows Vista. (I had to do that twice; first time around, some of the applications failed to install)

I connected the N97 to the PC via USB cable. I chose "Select USB mode: PC Suite" on the phone.

In the Nokia Ovi Suite, I connected the device.

It would appear to be connected indeed, since the Ovi Suite on the PC shows the N97's available memory.

[UPDATE, August 16: It is clearly connected, as I can browse the files on my N97 through the Ovi Suite on my PC.]

Then I chose to synchronize, i.e. to "copy images, sounds, videos, and messages from N97 to your PC", and clicked "OK".

After a few seconds, a small dialog box appears, saying:

Synchronization completed
0 files successfully copied to PC
0 files failed

I did this five times, and the transfer log in the Suite shows a history of five (finished) synchronizations.

The Photos application on my N97 shows 34 captured items.

What's going wrong here? Does the sync software somehow look at the wrong directory on the N97?

[UPDATE, August 16: In the lower left corner in Nokia Photos on the PC, it reads "Updating Nokia device view", which seems to go on forever. Should I wait for that to finish before I can sync? (LATER: It stopped, but that didn't help)

I've just submitted a question to Nokia Ovi sync support:

STARTS

Dear Support,

I've installed the Nokia Ovi Suite from the CD enclosed in the Nokia N97 package, onto my PC.

I've connected the N97 via USB cable, choosing the "PC Suite" connection mode.

In the Nokia Ovi Suite on the PC, and in Nokia Photos, I have repeatedly tried to synchronize the 34 photos and video clips in the camera folder on the device, to be imported in Nokia Photos on the PC. Alas, to no avail.

I have over 6000 items in Nokia Photos, but no lack of hardware memory.

For more details, please see: http://ping.fm/73D1E

Thank you!

ENDS

The response:

"Thanks for your message. We'll get back to you as soon as possible."]

