Seth Godin on the tribes we lead | Video on TED.com

Source: http://www.ted.com/talks/seth_godin_on_the_tribes_we_lead.html
Filmed Feb, 2009; Posted May, 2009

Seth Godin argues the Internet has ended mass marketing and revived a human social unit from the distant past: tribes. Founded on shared ideas and values, tribes give ordinary people the power to lead and make big change. He urges us to do so.

I received an email with a link to Seth's talk from my friend Chris, with whom I have been talking about enabling social innovation with online communication technology.

This is what I replied:

[STARTS]

http://www.josschuurmans.com/seth-godin/

Hello Chris,

I admire Seth Godin, I follow his blog and I've re-blogged some of his stuff (see link above).

Wish I had more time to read books, because his book on the concept of tribes is somewhere close to the top of my wish list. Great video! He probably sums it all up in his talk.

Yes, I find his views on the change from the industrial age into the information age – and particularly his notion that, while we thought the Internet would make us all equal, we actually revert to an ancient instinct of tribal leadership – very interesting indeed. Appealing, even.

Also, his proposition that we don't need to persuade everyone, but merely connect people to the tribes they already yearn to connect to, and connect the tribes into a movement, is very powerful.

As we want to make a difference by enabling social innovation through technology, we should really talk about how we can best apply Seth's lessons.

Talk to you soon,
Jos

[ENDS]

http://video.ted.com/assets/player/swf/EmbedPlayer.swf

